Lack of Sauvé

I know lack a certain sense of grace, but really, I have exemplary episodes. Like today, I was on the bus coming from the outer parking lot. As I was grabbing my jacket, I found a stray packet of sunflower seeds. I hadn’t had breakfast yet, so I was quite thrilled about finding them. (Healthy eating habits? Pashaw!)

 

With about five other commuters on the bus, I sat down in the front, feeling very cool and put together, excited that my hair color, jacket color and shirt color did this nice blending effect. So I got out the seeds and managed about two small handfuls aimed correctly into my mouth before I got impatient. I tapped out a heftier pile into the palm of my hand, threw it in a quick motion toward my mouth – and you know it – missed completely. I’m not even sure how I could actually get that grouping of seeds so far away from mouth.

Sunflower seeds were all over my left shoulder, my backpack, the floor. Some of them hit my sunglasses and dropped to my lap. I continued to semi-chew in order to feign some sort of actualization what that motion was supposed to accomplish. I sighed, put one foot on top of the other and leaned back. When I noticed that, no, I did not get away from this unobserved, that other riders had watched this fabulous display and that the eye of the driver even glanced back as well, I gave them the same look that my cat gives me when she falls off the windowsill. Eyebrow up, I fiddled with the Ipod, causally looking around… What? I had utterly meant to do that in the first place.

6 Responses to Lack of Sauvé

  1. E says:

    That sounds like way too many scenes I’ve had, because I have this tendency to be ridiculously clumsy at times…

    I thought you might enjoy this: http://wired.com/wired/archive/14.11/sixwords.html

    I should be working…

  2. D says:

    Why couldn’t you do stuff like that when we hang out?

  3. firewings says:

    Heh, I like Atwood’s: “Longed for him. Got him. Shit.”

  4. E says:

    How did I know that would be your favorite? Personally, I think Whedon’s gets better everytime I read it.

  5. Jonathan says:

    That’s my clumsy girl.

  6. Freddy says:

    Hallo mein Kind,
    das ist doch mein Part für die allgemeine Belustigung zu sorgen. Scheint mir als hättest du doch etwas von mir geerbt.

Leave a Reply

