Musical Guilty Pleasures

Everyone has them, those mp3s that when they play in a randomly sorted Winamp list you frantically leap to the computer and yelp, “Holy moly, I can’t believe that so-and-so downloaded that on my computer!” I’m not going to lie, I got all of these willingly.

Here’s the pick (mostly) of the litter:

Astrud Gilberto – The Girl From Ipanema
This is the song they have to put in every movie at least once. Somewhere. Twice in French films. Best elevator song ever.

Babylon Zoo – Spaceman
My first thought is that this song may date me and my musical ignorance. I loved this song though. And the kid singing it was way pre-modern emo too. Hotly so, strangely enough. But maybe I’m remembering the wrong video.

Brittany Spears – Toxic
Come on, that strange violin thing in the background [Is it violins?] doesn’t make you want to grab your spandex leotard and get all sexed up in an aerobic class? No?

Bryan Adams
Proof that acne scarring should not bar anyone from becoming a sex symbol. That is, a late 1980s – early 1990s sex symbol. And that time is long gone no matter what the leg warmers tell you.

Vanessa Carlton
She had two good songs. I have them both.

Nickelback
Play that one song, you know the one… *snaps fingers* Damn, the one from that one album…Hey… that’s not what I was thinking of…but… really, it’s all the same song anyhow.

Sean Paul – Temperature
I get a lot of heat for this one. [Bwahaha, heat! Get it! HEAT!] But let me say to you, this is such a good song for belly-dancing.

UB40
I can’t help downloading their songs. Wise men say only fools rush in, but that’s not so much a concern on dialup.

Wumpscut
You feel badass belting out your misogynistic rap lyrics while coasting down Main Street ? Try pulling up to a little old lady in her Caddie whilst singing sweetly to “Christfuck.”

5 Responses to Musical Guilty Pleasures

  1. culotte says:

    The Girl From Ipanema is my theme song that plays in my head, on a loop.

    🙂

  2. eatsbugs says:

    You have Nickelsuck and Bryan “All my songs are about lost youth and trite over-expressed love” Adams. You can’t be my friend anymore.

  3. E says:

    Oh, I have much worse guilty pleasures. I won’t even get into it. As for your Nickelback, here is a link I’ve mentioned to you before: http://www.thewebshite.net/nickelback.htm Oh, and anybody dissing Canada’s favorite rocker is unacceptable. You can’t stop the power ballad; you can only hope to contain it.

  4. J says:

    We all have them but all I have to say is “Christfuck, Christfuck”

Leave a Reply

