What do I know.

I put an Irish Riverdance-esqe CD into my Mom’s stereo, because anything is better than Toto. I rather like the old reels and jigs and I leaned back to think about my heritage. I tend to focus more on my mutable American identity and my more defined northern German ancestry and identity. This American identity also has the merging of ancestry in Scotland for me, yet I rarely think about the kilts, the lochs or the haggis.

 

So I mull about this and we pull up to a low rider in front of us. Typical in the Latino embrace of heritage, I see the gothic script on the back window of their name. ‘Fantastic,’ I think, ‘Here’s a culture that has direct ways of claiming its heritage and pronouncing it to the world.’ I lean closer to read the name.

 R…o…b…i…n…s…o…n…

6 Responses to What do I know.

  1. E says:

    Ah, the classic name-in-Old-English on the back of a lowrider or truck. It is up there with the decal of Calvin urinating on something and the “In Loving Memory” of t-shirts that look like they were made by the dozen in somebody’s back yard. I wonder if they are as prevalent in other parts of the world.

    However, I have yet to see an Old English decal with a name quite that funny. Did you take a picture of it?

  2. eatsbugs says:

    We have kids around here who have made dog tags with a “in loving memory” on them. However, because they are shaped as hearts, I keep thinking its for someone’s pet.

  3. JenBen says:

    Oh the dog tags are amusing, so is the car decal…ya know, even out here in Germany I have seen people with the Mexican flag in their rear window…Yeah good for you and your heritage but you don’t see us with the German heritage with the brown, yellow, and orange everywhere, do you? 😛

  4. firewings says:

    Um…not “everywhere” per se… ^_^

  5. JenBen says:

    Hehe but at least it’s more discrete…bah botched that spelling. That’s what I get for waking up at 5am again.

  6. Erin says:

    LoL Toto… aaahhh the 80’s

Leave a Reply

