Postman vs. Postman

I finally had time to see the movie The Postman, which I had been looking forward to ever since I had recently read the book it is based on. I, like many others, am ones of those that think that film versions cannot possibly parallel anything my imagination can think up. Therefore I set myself up for disappointment, but during this long movie, I had an insight that any good anime watcher probably has at one point or another. It follows that sometimes an anime’s story is not the same in manga, television series, or movie.

With that thought, I started taking this approach to the movie about twenty minutes into it. Right about when a casual character in the movie, who remains a country bumpkin in the book (and the limits of her dimensionality extend to hoping for both happy semen and a good university [Really though, what family-minded female in academia isn’t?]), becomes a semi-automatic-wielding love interest. ‘Hmm’, me thinks, ‘I don’t think they’re going to address the AI intelligence and the neo-feminism in quite the same angle that the book did.’

I heard nothing good about the movie, but I loved it. While the movie, with its three-hour length, still managed to override nearly half of the core points to the book, it still delivered a great message. Was Costner wooden? Yes, a bang up Keanu-esqe performance. Can I understand how audiences would think this long and overdone? Dear me yes. This could have been done under two hours easy, especially with as much plot as was left out. Do I recommend it? The book? An empathic yes. [Here’s a recommendation you never say you get E.] Go! Off to the library with you!

But do I recommend the movie? Well, there are worse ways to spend three hours, especially during the holidays. Say… like writing a term paper. (As, um, I should have been doing.)

2 Responses to Postman vs. Postman

  1. E says:

    Alright, I will stick with my analysis of the film: Jackass saves the world by accident while in the process of trying to bed his friend’s widow.

    Then again, I haven’t seen the flim in a while. I will check out the book though.

  2. Sarah says:

    Hey I only saw the tail end of this movie wanted to see the rest.

Leave a Reply

