That’s right, a pincushion bitches.

Well, let’s just say the pincushion was not the first thing that I attempted. Other dutiful women would have continued to darn the pants of the man in the house, but after realizing that I would have to hand sew (For shame!), I threw his pants back at him, reneged my gallant offer and told him to sew his own daman pants. I would continue on with my laptop cover. Oh yes, laptop cover. Hanky? No. Curtains? No. A padded laptop cover would be my first task at hand.

As I sat down to figure out how to get machine all threaded up, I suddenly remembered that Home Ec was a long, long time ago on a plant far, far away. And I got a C. That was for either for the green cookies or throwing sandwiches into the burning oil from about three feet away…

 

But I also remember not being too fond of the sewing machine either. Lots of exclamations of bitter reasoning with an inanimate object.

Okay, this night was not so bad. Cat had a blast when I did not realize that there was a thing to put the spool of thread onto so it wouldn’t fly across the dining room and I didn’t need to secure my thumb on it to refrain it from doing such. *ahem*

My beginning stitches? Fantastic. Straight, miraculously correct on the tension, easy just like the box said. Now, sewing through pleather, two layers of padding and retaining a straight line? Not the best beginner training. In a fit of frustration, I realized what I sorely needed. Tada, pincushion by moi was born.

J told me that that now I have a great way of making voodoo dolls and that I should have stitched a certain person’s name into it. Oh my.

 

Tomorrow D and I are starting our intrepid challenge through the book of blog prompts that we neglected during NaBloPoMo. First, Number 73, Collect People. This means interviews! We decided to interview each other since I whined about not being able to approach other renowned bloggers because I’m too shy. I am such a failed journalist.

One Response to That’s right, a pincushion bitches.

  1. JenBen says:

    Well I cheated and bought my tree skirt…I’ll have to try another sewing project one of these days instead of sitting on my duff reading blogs and typing up my own 😛

Leave a Reply

