Procrastination as an Art. Now there’s a conference paper.

Now that I’ve shaken off the readers that may have been sporadically coming to my site during NaBloPoMo, I’m getting the rest of you leeches off by not posting. But it is an addiction and I had to leave a quick note.

R noted today that she totally understands that I’m under finals stress. She thought I probably wasn’t doing much work in advance due to my bang up job here at my blog. No, sadly, this how I operate: procrastination, irate rants, no sleep, ill advised caffeine usage culminating in frantic scribbling. Boom, all the work done in half the time.

I really was hoping to be a born again student in grad school. I guess it’s as much hooey as being born again virgin.

A taste of the scribbling?

“The approach to what genre is can be both autonomous, in that it can be used as a tool to perceive the cultural norms and mores of a society, but also can be seen in the ideological sense by looking at how the imbuement of culture works its way into creating genre codes.”

Fun, yes? Oh no – No, no, no.

It’s all over by Wednesday, so Thursday will be a good, good day. But I doubt I’ll be awake for much of it. 

5 Responses to Procrastination as an Art. Now there’s a conference paper.

  1. eatsbugs says:

    If you use enough 4 syllable words, you can throw off those professors. I’m sure they aren’t all wonderfully intelligent.

  2. The Rebuker says:

    Kudos! You’ve been studying English for a single semester and a) your writing sample is totally nonsensical, b) your fluent jargonese nonetheless makes it sound really deep and meaningful and, c) You’ve mastered the art of productive procrastination. Hand this woman her master’s!

  3. firewings says:

    Aww, you hurt my heart, that ‘nonsensical’ bit is my thesis. ^_^

    Mmm, imbuement. Such a fun word. Rolls of the tongue. This is the quality I use when selecting from the bevy of four dollars words I have stored up.

  4. krista says:

    I actually snorted when I read this first line.

    PS- I’m not a leech!
    Haha.

  5. The Rebuker says:

    I meant nonsensical in a good way.

Leave a Reply

