You mean you shouldn’t just collect the workout equipment?

Remember how I said I was going to do a little exercising? I’m inspired by Miss Zoot:

“I “only” ran 10 miles last weekend, even though I was supposed to run 16 then. I called MrZ around mile 8 and said, “I’m dying. Meet me at Starbucks, I’m only running 10 today.” Where I’m amazed that me, the girl who couldn’t even make it to the end of the block 10 months ago, can use the phrase “only 10 miles” and not be joking – it was still shorter than I was supposed to run.”

Before, I’ve dusted off my workout DVDs and tentatively handled my weights with awe. That’s usually where the fun stopped. The last couple of days, I put the DVDs in and actually used the weights. Tonight, I ran, jogged, but mostly, walked a mile. I feel tired, but good about it.

[For now at least. *coughs*]

Naturally, this is the point where I get all ambitious. Thusly – I’ve decided on two new goals for this semester:

• In three months, I will be able to run a mile steadily without stopping or slowing.
• In three months, I will be able to sit down on my bum and be able to stretch out my legs comfortably and easily in front of me.

I miss flexibility. [Make all the jokes you’d like.] I remember being more flexible. The remembrance is starting to fade into a muscle memory ache, a feeling like I knew what I was capable of and now it’s melting away. Or…more how now I can physically feel the stagnation. I remember when I was about nine or ten how I used to lay in strangely twisted arcs comfortably watching television on the living room floor; even though, it was due in part to my strangely twisted back.

And for the observant readers, what exactly does run steadily mean?

As I explained to J, “It’s not running from an ax-murderer fast… yet not a do, do, do speed… more of a do-do-do speed.”
He thinks for a moment and laughs, “You know…I think your do-do-do was slower than the do, do, do.”

6 Responses to You mean you shouldn’t just collect the workout equipment?

  1. thebutton says:

    Try finding a Yoga class. I went yesterday and I discovered muscles I didn’t even know I had. And I learned some interesting ways to stretch your body. It definately improves flexability. The hubby didn’t consider it a workout until I woke up rather sore. But kudos to you for being ambitious on getting in shape! 🙂

  2. firewings says:

    Sadly, no Yoga for me. I fundamentally don’t bend that way anymore.

  3. E says:

    Ah, working out. If I could only feel good about doing that… *sigh*

  4. E says:

    Oh, and your ideas intrigue me, and I would like to subscribe to your newsletter.

  5. firewings says:

    I have a newsletter? Is this supposed to be subliminally subversive E?

  6. K says:

    Haha, your comment on flexible *insert stupid joke here*.

    Anywho, get a partner, makes life easier I find. Its funny you should bring this up, I was actually doing very very well up until the begining of feb but now I don’t have any motivation, and besides, being a new years resolution it was doomed to fail, right?

    I’ll check back in 3 months and make sure your flexible 😉

    K(are we going on first letter basis now?)

Leave a Reply

