A meme for you, a meme for me.

Not just a survey…yes, it’s a meme! I tag E, D, J, kc, and R with doing it. I doubt anyone will complete it…as for your excuses R and J, just post it in here as a comment. And E, didn’t you say you wanted some writing prompts?

Have you ever had an argument with a teacher?
It’s not so much that I argued with him but he got snarky with me. I got up and left the classroom and he promptly wrote me a very apologetic email.

Can you count in Roman numerals?
I’m pretty sure I could wing it in context.

Are you bilingual?
Yes. My Mom tried desperately for trilingual. It was in the same vein of her giving me a very formal name that I can revert to whenever I get a PhD. The trilingual has only partially worked out, but thanks to Sesame Street’s Spanish Word of the Day I know now how to ask for un abrazo. Rar.

Abrazo means hug, you perverts.

Do you know how your car’s engine works?
I would say yes, yet my father would say no. It’s interesting because what I do know I seem to remember picking up from him. The neatest trick is getting that little throttle thing (*ahem*) to rev the engine without sitting in the car and pressing the pedal. AMAZING!

Can you program the time on a VCR?
In this day and age I should question what a VCR is, but sadly, I am old and this is what my job was when I was younger.

How many email addresses do you have?
Welllllll…shoot…I would say around…five? Maybe?

Do you own a slinky?
Yes…it’s in storage. Where are there stairs in flat lands of the desert? They don’t even have basements here. No stairs = boring slinky.

*thinks* Wait, I look at stairs when leaving my apartment! I need my slinky stat! There has to be a research paper in that.

Do you talk to yourself?
I do. I’m witty and charming.

Do you have a tough time remembering people’s names?
For the most part.

“So…was it good for you?”
“I…um…wow, what’s your name again?”

Did you go stag to your Senior Prom?
Nope. I was planning on it, because HWSNBN was in a funk. Then I asked my friend’s older brother when she, my stag-mate, asked some random dude. That meant that for two consecutive prom years I went with college guys. [Hi David!] There’s a claim to fame.

Is any leftover food currently residing in your refrigerator?
Some pasta, some filet medallions and some mashed potatoes. I’m eating the rice and the sweet potato currently.

Are you high maintenance?
High maintenance, no; neurotic, yes. There is a very, very fine line there.

How do you want to be proposed to?
Wow… I should have read farther into this survey…
Um, perhaps let’s explain how I would not like to be proposed to. I do not want to be tied down, my eyes held open by clamps, or drugged. That said, I don’t want to just know you for a couple of months, not be dating, yet still be asked how we should plan the rest of lives after college.
*drinks a shot of Gatorade* It is still before noon. I have standards.

Do you work out regularly?
*coughs* Um, yes. Yes, yes.

Do you care about your appearance?
I do sometimes, but my appearance doesn’t care about me; I shouldn’t be so invested.

Describe the person of your dreams:
He would have actual humor and wit, would appreciate my punnyness, would not like to kill me or have me killed with a knife, and would sacrifice time with the ubiquitous “the guys” to hang out with me. I would also like him to know the meaning of ubiquitous. That’s all for just starters.

Do you like to be tan?
Nope, I want my spider veins to be seen far and wide.

If you had your choice of anyone in the world to spend a night with, who would it be?
Noam Chomsky would probably win me major academic points, but I’d probably fill out the wrong paperwork and get stuck with Conner Oberst.

How many keys are on your key ring?
Just five.

How much money is in your wallet/purse right at this moment?
Oh, probably about 20 bucks.

What is your favorite spice or seasoning?
Seasoned Salt! What does that mean –  I don’t know!

What does your name mean?
Prophetess of Doom. Hey, hey!

Do you give your pets holiday presents?
I used to buy raw hide bones for my puppies, but le Kitty has not gotten anything yet. She barely earns her Kibble around here anyhow.

When doing up your jeans, do you button then zip? Or zip then button?
Really, I have no idea. I think I zip, then button. What does that say about me…?

How far would you go on the first date?
Depends on how far he’s willing to drive me; or, if I’ve hit the jackpot, where his frequent flyer miles will get us.

Do you sleep on your side? Stomach? Back?
I fall into that state before sleep on my side or stomach, but end up sleeping on my back.

Have you attended a high school reunion yet? How was it?
Jen just reminded me that there may be a five year reunion this year. I don’t think I’m attending. Not enough people have died, divorced, gotten thick with children, or fallen into a vacuous ruin yet.

Are you ticklish? Where?
Wer will das wissen?

Would you rather change your past or know your future?
Neither.

Do you believe in saving yourself for marriage?
It’s like I’m dating this survey.

Would you pick up a hitchhiker?
No. Funny story though; when my Dad moved out of the house for the first time, his mom loaded him up with so much stuff just so that he couldn’t pick anyone up. I think he said that’s how he ended up with an Elvis lamp on the passenger seat.

Would you consider yourself a worrier?
*worries about being a worrier* Also, see the zipper vs. button question.

Do you notice when your crush/significant other changes something about themselves?
Yes. This one guy (well two of them have done this and both scenarios were about the same) cut his mop to an uneven close shave which made his head even more round and noticeably unattractive. This is where the theory sprung up that I should be with SO when he does damn wacky things with his appearance. At least at that point, I can brace myself and not have to gather my jaw off the ground when I do see it. It’s hard to answer with your jaw like that, especially when he gives you a jubilant smile and asks you what is wrong.

Do your first impressions of people usually stick?
Yes.

What movie can you watch over and over?
“They may take our lives, but they’ll never take…OUR FREEDOM!”

Do you like to cook?
I do.

Do plants die in your care?
Usually, but I have one tenacious spider plant in the living room that is giving me a run for my “I Kill Plants” t-shirt.

What’s one thing you feel you must do in your life before it ends?
I use to say something self-inspiring like “write a book.” Now it’s more like, “have a cute and adorable baby.” Damn ovaries.

9 Responses to A meme for you, a meme for me.

  1. thebutton says:

    I’m not gonna do this survey again 😛 But I did enjoy your answers as well. 🙂

  2. firewings says:

    Hehe, I didn’t tag you because you’re the one I got it from.

  3. eatsbugs says:

    Ha Ha! You have ovaries!

  4. kc says:

    haha, please call me “K” so I’ll fit in with the rest of the cool crowd o.0

    -K

  5. J says:

    Have you ever had an argument with a teacher?
    Nope

    Can you count in Roman numerals?
    Yes

    Are you bilingual?
    I can count in roman numerals.

    Do you know how your car’s engine works?
    Mostly

    Can you program the time on a VCR?
    Haven’t needed to in a long time.

    How many email addresses do you have?
    Two or three.

    Do you own a slinky?
    Possibly, I own a lot of random stuff.

    Do you talk to yourself?
    Yes, in full conversations sometimes. Kinda creepy huh?

    Do you have a tough time remembering people’s names?
    Not really, depends on the person/people I’m meeting.

    Did you go stag to your Senior Prom?
    Yes, the person I wanted to invite ended up working at the prom that night so she couldn’t participate.

    Is any leftover food currently residing in your refrigerator?
    Oh yeah.

    Are you high maintenance?
    No, I don’t require a whole lot.

    How do you want to be proposed to?
    I thought I was the one who was supposed to do the proposing, being in the 21st century doesn’t matter.

    Do you work out regularly?
    My thumbs are hard as steel.

    Do you care about your appearance?
    A little, but not really.

    Describe the person of your dreams:
    Hard to do, most of them are naked, blurry, demonic, mangled, or just simply people I know. But really if you are talking about someone more compatible, that would be someone who likes to play videogames, listen to metal with an appreciation of other styles of music, enjoy horror and comedy movies, and just want to spend time together.

    Do you like to be tan?
    I prefer pale.

    If you had your choice of anyone in the world to spend a night with, who would it be?
    Someone who I care about.

    How many keys are on your key ring?
    18 (They were all used at one point in time if not currently being used.) and fingernail clippers I hate trying to play the guitar and having long fingernails.

    How much money is in your wallet/purse right at this moment?
    $11.00 and a few buy-ten-get-one-free cards.

    What is your favorite spice or seasoning?
    Italian or ground pepper.

    What does your name mean?
    Gift from God (seriously)

    Do you give your pets holiday presents?
    I try to reward her with random gifts but she like being fed the good stuff by F.

    When doing up your jeans, do you button then zip? Or zip then button?
    Button then zip. It just makes sense and is less effort, but I did have to think about it for a second.

    How far would you go on the first date?
    However far they would like to go.

    Do you sleep on your side? Stomach? Back?
    Mostly back, but sometime a little of each. I sleep very still though.

    Have you attended a high school reunion yet? How was it?
    I might be old but I’m not that old.

    Are you ticklish? Where?
    Only when I want to be.

    Would you rather change your past or know your future?
    Neither.

    Do you believe in saving yourself for marriage?
    No, there is nothing wrong with “trying before you buy”.

    Would you pick up a hitchhiker?
    Done it.

    Would you consider yourself a worrier?
    Depends on what it is.

    Do you notice when your crush/significant other changes something about themselves?
    Yes, I can’t always point it out right off the bat but I do notice.

    Do your first impressions of people usually stick?
    Eh, depends on the person.

    What movie can you watch over and over?
    Any of the Hellraiser movies.
    Do you like to cook?
    When I do it, yes.

    Do plants die in your care?
    Yes, because I let them die on purpose.

    What’s one thing you feel you must do in your life before it ends?
    Live.

  6. E says:

    Done and done.

  7. The Rebuker says:

    Have you ever had an argument with a teacher?
    Sadly, no. Wow, I feel like I’ve missed out on a life-changing experience.
    Can you count in Roman numerals?
    Yes. That godless haridan Mrs. Culbertson (Wayside Middle School, eighth grade) drilled those damn things into us. They’ve come in handy exactly two times since then.
    Are you bilingual?
    Sí, gracias a los requisitos del colegio de Artes y Ciencias aquí en la Universidad Estatal de Nueavo Mexico. Now all the janitors at the library think I’m cool.
    Do you know how your car’s engine works?
    I insert the key and the engine starts. Sometimes it doesn’t.
    Can you program the time on a VCR?
    Yes. I’m getting pretty good at it. I even programmed my new alarm clock. Hot Damn!
    How many email addresses do you have?
    Two: one for business and one for pleasure (my pleasure being real estate and diet pill ads).
    Do you own a slinky?
    No. That’s pretty sad for the mom of a four-year-old.
    Do you talk to yourself?
    Constantly. It’s the mark of a truly self-absorbed person. Also, my Spanish is much better when I’m talking to myself.
    Do you have a tough time remembering people’s names?
    Yes. Faces good, names bad.
    Did you go stag to your Senior Prom?
    I was actually at a drama competition during the prom which was tragic for the whole school because I was the token lesbian (I self-identified as bisexual) and I’m sure everyone was wanting to catch some hot, topical, homosexual prom action.
    Is any leftover food currently residing in your refrigerator?
    Yes. The refried beans and the moldy grapes are thinking of putting in a pool.
    Are you high maintenance?
    Come on, I’m not a lawn or a car. The challenge of loving a person shouldn’t be categorized in such proprietary terms. (Yes.)
    How do you want to be proposed to?
    Indecently.
    Do you work out regularly?
    I work out with regular irregularity.
    Do you care about your appearance?
    To a degree. I won’t go out of the house without makeup but I will go out in jeans that have been worn twice already.
    Describe the person of your dreams:
    Is tall, has dark hair, seems to be sprouting tentacles from betwixt his butt cheeks . . . oh . . . not that kind of dream. Hmm . . . Paul Newman circa 1966.
    Do you like to be tan?
    I’m just happy that in comparison to some of my friends of Northern European extraction, I am tan.
    If you had your choice of anyone in the world to spend a night with, who would it be?
    It would require some time-bending but I would really like to go out to a bar with my husband (as he is now) and my daughter (as she will be at around 25) just to see what she thought of her childhood, assess the damage, get really drunk, and begin improvements in the morning.
    How many keys are on your key ring?
    Five.
    How much money is in your wallet/purse right at this moment?
    $52. I have to go grocery shopping after work.
    What is your favorite spice or seasoning?
    Saigon Cinnamon.
    What does your name mean?
    Faithful Pilgrim . . . yeah . . .
    Do you give your pets holiday presents?
    Food and a place to live.
    When doing up your jeans, do you button then zip? Or zip then button?
    Button then zip
    How far would you go on the first date?
    The horrible, horrible truth is, when I used to date, it was because I was on the prowl for some carnal lovin’ so it was usually on the guy to decide how far to go. This made me a big fan of slutty guys.
    Do you sleep on your side? Stomach? Back?
    I used to be a stomach sleeper but during pregnancy you have to sleep on your side with at least three pillows supporting various parts of the body. I’ve lost most of the pillows but I still sleep on my side.
    Have you attended a high school reunion yet? How was it?
    I still have a year to go. Viva class of ’98!
    Are you ticklish? Where?
    Yes, all over.
    Would you rather change your past or know your future?
    Neither.
    Do you believe in saving yourself for marriage?
    C’mon, that’s like saving your best outfit for digging a ditch..
    Would you pick up a hitchhiker?
    No.
    Would you consider yourself a worrier?
    I’m the kind of hypocritical worrier who espouses a “hakuna matata” outlook on life but who is secretly eaten up with dread.
    Do you notice when your crush/significant other changes something about themselves?
    My wifey-sense is tingling!
    Do your first impressions of people usually stick?
    Yes.
    What movie can you watch over and over?
    Romy and Michelle’s High School Reunion
    Do you like to cook?
    I do.
    Do plants die in your care?
    I am possessed of a viciously green thumb.
    What’s one thing you feel you must do in your life before it ends?
    Publish. Does this count?

  8. firewings says:

    Yes, self-publishing counts. ^_^

    And as for drinking with your 25-year-old daughter, is that meta-parenting at that point? Cool idea nonetheless!

    Also, randomly, when I did have the metal in my back, I never did try out the magnet bit and I now so wish I had.

  9. The Rebuker says:

    Woah. “Meta-parenting.” Woah.

    I read the first part of your survey thinking it was E’s, based solely on the Connor Oberst comment: witty, snarky, funny even though I don’t really get it. Very E. Then the proposal question came up and I had a brief “Is E gay? Is E this gay?! Wait. Oh, this must be from one of Firewing’s female bloggophiles.” I had actually written a comment here wondering where your answers were when all of a sudden, “Usual Suspects”-style, all the answers fell into place: The spoiled underserving cat, the inexplicably fancy-schmancy leftovers, the dual embracing and rejecting of personal neuroses, the *ahem* frequent use of *cough* asterisk-enclosed non-verbal asides, the Prophetess of Doom! It was you all along. I should have known. It was so obvious.

    So, next time, I’ll try to use more of my brain when perusing your blog.

Leave a Reply

