A Romp in the Backyard

You know what I haven’t done in a while? Photoblog! [Don’t I usually preface my photoblogs like that? Yes. But also, I thought to myself – shouldn’t I put up some more pictures of moi so that people will recognize me at Blogher? Wee!]

These were pictures from when Sarah was here last week. There is a little trail a ways outside town, up toward the mountains, named Dripping Springs. Very pretty – and a lot harder on my weak-ass self than I remembered when I climbed it with Martina about a year ago. Maybe I was in better shape. Being an academic is making me doughy; especially when reviewing these pictures.

The beginning of the trail:

Beginning of Trail

Sarah discovered that it really is just dripping:

Dripping

This was the view all around us as we headed into the shelter of the mountains:

Mountains

I look worried and J looks bemusedly at my camera angle. I say, “Look at the placing of that trail so beautifully behind us in the shot. I totally meant to do that.”

J and I

We were tired. We were hot. We weren’t caring about double chins or flabby arms. [Oh, well, she wasn’t.] We were really just waiting for what was going to happen in the pictures after this one.

Flabby

And naturally, after a whole day in nature [Allow myself to introduce myself?] it has to come down to this:

Sarah

Me

Thank godness I’m not going to be a teacher, or dating anyone Catholic or Mormon, because that there – had a lot of alcohol in it. And I drank it. So there.

7 Responses to A Romp in the Backyard

  1. eatsbugs says:

    This is one of my favorite posts yet. Wish I could have joined you.

  2. Joey says:

    Great photos. That drink looks good. My answer to my dessert is now up.

  3. Thebutton says:

    Looks like you all had fun and it was nice to see the Sarah even if it was just in a picture. I haven’t seen her in years!

    *steals a virgin of whatever drink it was you had* Slurp!

  4. E says:

    That reminds me of some of the scenery on I-85 next to the Columbia in Oregon. Yeah.

  5. K says:

    *drools* thats one big margarita.

  6. The Rebuker says:

    The best part about the last photo is that the drink looks to be approximately the width of your chest, which kind of makes you look small and underage. Great way to top off a rigorous dayhike.

  7. Sarah says:

    I particullarly liked the lame octopuss!! what did we call him again!!!????

Leave a Reply

