Contemplative Wednesday

“I needed a drink, I needed a lot of life insurance, I needed a vacation, I needed a home in the country. What I had was a coat, a hat and a gun.”

-Raymond Chandler from Farewell, My Lovely

3 Responses to Contemplative Wednesday

  1. E says:

    Noir is filled with these wonderful quotes. You may like the more brutish stylings of Mickey Spillane, or the more stylish Dashiell Hammett. The director of Brick was highly influenced by Hammett.

  2. firewings says:

    And I really liked Brick.

  3. The Rebuker says:

    Fav noir descriptor: “She had a body like a cloverleaf freeway — built for speed with all the right curves.”

Leave a Reply

