Varying Degrees of Normalcy

I could write about how I ran around the house coughing in the dense smoke, cat under one arm and furiously clawing at the fire alarm while J ran to investigate the smoke that could only come from whatever I had set upon the stove.

But this is normal.

I could explain how burning cabbage and potatoes are not the most pleasant of smells and how I’ve lost another kitchen item to the war that is my culinary education.

But this too is also normal.

What is not normal in this nightly routine is an e-mail pertaining to a conference I have to present at in October. A beginning program was attached noting me, Area Woman, Area State University, as a verified presenter. My Gods people, THAT is serious!

11 Responses to Varying Degrees of Normalcy

  1. E says:

    Oh, the humanity! Though if that’s normal, we should be wary of the abnormal in some cases then… That’s a scary thought.

    However, it appears some abnormal is good. Congrats on the conference!

  2. elpollodiablo says:

    Gasp! Presenting! I can only assume this is good.

  3. Also, in case it is, congratulations…or something.

  4. firewings says:

    I hear it’s good for my Vita, but on a personal note it’s “Oh the Humanity” good.

  5. eatsbugs says:

    And perhaps, “Oh crap, its real” good.

  6. K says:

    It would appear your 8 dollar vocabulary words are paying off. Personally, I’d stick to the 3 for a dollar kind, but that’s just me 😉

    Bravo to you!

  7. firewings says:

    Oh, we’re at 8 and 3 dollars now? Did that go up for inflation or just because we’re adults?

  8. K says:

    I would imagine adult hood wouldn’t have anything to do with it, so given the lack of options I’d have to say inflation.

  9. Want to really wow them? Get up there and talk about kittens. You can’t go wrong.

  10. firewings says:

    “I are has blog ethics. Teh Ethos iz mah Beyotch.”

    I’ve been reading too much lolcat.

  11. […] Can I please use this in my powerpoint for the conference? […]

Leave a Reply

