Contemplative Wednesday

“Meet your descendants. They don’t know what it’s like to be involuntarily lost, don’t understand what we mean by the word “privacy”, and will have access (sooner or later) to a historical representation of our species that defies understanding. They live in a world where history has a sharply-drawn start line, and everything they individually do or say will sooner or later be visible to everyone who comes after them, forever. They are incredibly alien to us.”

Charlie Stross

And from Dave, a commenter from the excellent article:

“Forget privacy, just not being connected all the time to your social circle is going to be a rare and [traumatic] event. Having anything we would call a “private” life isn’t going to be a quaint notion, it’s going to be a terrifying perversion.”

3 Responses to Contemplative Wednesday

  1. E says:

    “I’m just an average man with an average life
    I work from 9 to 5, hey, hell I pay the price
    All I want is to be left alone in my average home
    But why do I always feel like I’m in the Twilight Zone and

    I always feel like somebody’s watchin’ me
    And I have no privacy
    Oh, oh, oh, I always feel like somebody’s watchin’ me
    Tell me is it just a dream

    When I come home at night
    I bolt the door real tight
    People call me on the phone I’m trying to avoid
    Well, can the people on TV see me or am I just paranoid

    When I’m in the shower, I’m afraid to wash my hair
    ‘Cause I might open my eyes and find someone standing there
    People say I’m crazy, just a little touched
    But maybe showers remind me of Psycho too much, that’s why”

    — Rockwell, “Somebody’s Watching Me”

  2. K says:

    *scratches head* I would comment, but I got nothing, so here is your nothing comment o.0

  3. Timera says:

    You know, I once read an article in Reader’s Digest about the privacy issue. The author made several good points. First, privacy is guaranteed absolutely nowhere in our Constitution or our Bill of Rights. It is NOT a right to privacy in any way, shape, or form. It is a construct of our current legal system, and that is technically unconstitutional (if I remember his argument correctly). BUT, this author also pretty much gave out all his personal information, like full name, address, DOB, SSN, and some other things I can’t remember off-hand, saying that there is no such thing as privacy anyway, so what is everybody up in arms about? I’m not so sure I’d be that gutsy to publish my personal, supposedly private, information in a magazine that has a readership of over 1 million. Gutsy, man, gutsy…

Leave a Reply

