Contemplative Wednesday

“If you listen to the good things people say about you, you might just start believing them. If you listen to the bad things people say about you, you might just start believing them.”

– Elizabeth Taylor

5 Responses to Contemplative Wednesday

  1. The Rebuker says:

    Lesson here: don’t listen.

  2. eatsbugs says:

    Ever. Like…even to your mother.

  3. E says:

    Well, I thought about the army
    Dad said, “Son, you’re fucking high”
    And I thought,
    “Yeah, there’s a first for everything”
    So I took my old man’s advice
    Three sad semesters
    It was only 15 grand spent in bed
    I thought about the army
    I dropped out and joined a band instead

    Grew a moustache and a mullet
    Got a job at Chick-fil-A
    Citing artistic differences
    The band broke up in May
    And in June reformed without me
    And they got a different name
    I nuked another grandma’s apple pie
    And hung my head in shame, no…

    I’ve been thinking a lot today
    I’ve been thinking a lot today

    Oh, I think I’ll write a screenplay
    Oh, I think I’ll take it to L.A.
    Oh, I think I’ll get it done yesterday (Aw, shit!)

    In this time of introspection
    On the eve of my election
    I say to my reflection,
    “God, please spare me more rejection!”
    ‘Cause my peers they criticize me
    And my ex-wives all despise me
    Try to put it all behind me
    But my redneck past is nipping at my heels

    I’ve been thinking a lot today
    I’ve been thinking a lot today
    I’ve been thinking a lot today
    I thought about the army

    — Ben Folds Five, “Army”

  4. Thebutton says:

    And most people listen to the negative and it’s harder to get those negative thoughts out of our head.

Leave a Reply

