Cue

It’s a sign that you need to get your lazy ass back in gear, and clock back into work from lunch, when the stray January 2006 copy of Good Housekeeping has the next page, a riveting tale of horror and survival on the London bombings, torn out of it.

[This has been an example of the linguistic principle of recursion. You’re welcome.]

6 Responses to Cue

  1. E says:

    I hate when that happens. I get that a lot when I read magazines while waiting for doctor appointments. It makes me wonder what was on that missing page that made it so important for somebody to rip it out. It’s probably as simple as a tween wanting to keep the “dreamy” picture of whoever was in that “Got Milk” ad, but I always hope it was a cooler story.

    Am I a lousy engineering person if I find random literary devices a bit of a turn-on? Would this revelation be a strike of death to mention that in any personal ad I may choose to make some lonely day? I fear this is true.

  2. firewings says:

    I can see it:
    “SWM – Loves recursion and onomatopoeia. Likes long walks on the beach whilst debating white space in conjunction to word meaning. Tends to be turned on by “olde” words such as harken and whilst and yonder. Enjoys sentence fragments.”

    I’m not sure if it would be a strike of death so much as not understood. Which is worse in that case? I have yet to figure out.

  3. E says:

    If it’s not understood, it in itself becomes a filtering device. There might be something there. With that said, I’m going to have to write this down for that rainy day. It’s too awesome not to use.

  4. firewings says:

    I wonder if we’ll reach this plateau of dating over-qualification. We’ll get that place where we can’t quite eat at Burger King anymore, but don’t quite feel ready for a Chianti and Kobe beef.

    …If you get my drift. (Can I sound more pompous here? I think not! Hurray!)

    Oh, oh! I have an idea for a new website – LustingAcademics.com! “Our standards are impossibly high – join us!”

  5. But it will just be full of 14 year olds with a Nietzsche poster on their walls. All his friends telling him he’s deep after he said “Dude…like what if out planet was like, a speck of dust on someone elses planet?”

    I guess what I’m trying to say is that it would be the best site ever.

  6. firewings says:

    It really would be the best site ever.

Leave a Reply

