The Apple doesn’t fall far from the Tree

As I sat next to my Dad, a few minutes before he was going to be wheeled away, he reflected on the double chocolate cake I made earlier in the week and then went on to talk about the different sorts of German cake that he had eaten: my Oma’s Buttercreme Torte and Bienstich, a small cake covered with almond and butter glaze. He groaned remembering the taste of them when they warm.

“If I only had one food to eat for the rest of my life,” he said, “…I think it would be cake.” His eyes widened, even though they had sunk deeply into their cavities, and his voice grew a slight bit louder, “Do you know how many varieties of cake there are?”

Do I ever.

6 Responses to The Apple doesn’t fall far from the Tree

  1. J says:

    This is awesome and cute all at the same time.

  2. E says:

    What is this delicious-sounding dessert and why hasn’t my German grandmother ever made it?

  3. Freddy says:

    und wie gerne wuerde OMA ihm den Kuchen jetzt zubereiten und er wuerde uns allen wieder das dicke grosse Mittelstueck wegfressen…..und anschliessend vom Schokoladenpudding die dicke Haut abziehen und keinem etwas abgeben!!!
    Oma macht die beste Buttercremetorte der WELT!

  4. eatsbugs says:

    I’m glad to see this little ray of sunshine. You should get your dad some cake ASAP.

  5. Thebutton says:

    I’d bake him a cake and ship it over if it wouldn’t get stale before it got there.

  6. […] this conversation happened, I was waiting with my Dad to go into surgery to get a stent for his morphine […]

Leave a Reply

