Blogher, Semi-Live, Post 1, Getting There

Mid-Flight, Thursday, 7/26/07 11:46 Mountain Time

I am writing this post at thirty-one thousand feet, the sky is clear, but I’m not sure where we are. I fell asleep a bit ago and trying to calculate it via the time on my computer and the time that the pilot specified since I didn’t bring a watch, so we might only have a half hour. Or an hour, this whole computation involves numbers, and English majors need none of that.

The plane was supposed to leave at 7:15 this morning, but as we got on we were immediately told that there was going to be an hour delay due to bad weather in Chicago. Calling J, I heard that there was flooding and all sorts of nasty weather. I guess there was a ground stop on flights and canceling of others to lighten the load at O’Hare.

Landing

We were put in queue and did actually get up in the air around nine thirty. I’m sitting at a window seat, directly behind the wing, but it’s not obstructing my view. I’m joined in my aisle by a tall, built, blonde man and a mother separated from the rest of her family, holding her seven week old daughter.

My hormones are going crazy.

The kid has been peaceful the entire time and I’ve been able to get unobstructed views of incredible baby cuteness – baby toes and sleep stretches. When awake, the girl gives the most serious expressions to her mother, as if quite aware of the situation and just a moment away from explaining that she need a little time to think about everything.

After we land I’m going to head to the potty, compose myself, put in my contacts and find the Blue line and take it to the hostel where, you guessed it, I will be posting this. Hot dog! Semi-live blogging begins!

[Also – I’m just starting a movie on my computer, The Hustler, and let me say that the ability to do that, watch a movie on your computer, is crazy cool. How swank am I. Swank!]

7 Responses to Blogher, Semi-Live, Post 1, Getting There

  1. E says:

    So can you really say you “will be posting this” when you obviously have posted this? Well, I guess it’s a timed entry and all, but it seems weird to me. Maybe your post needs flashback smoke and old-timey music.

  2. firewings says:

    That’s why it’s Semi-Live! Sheesh!

  3. Josh says:

    *chuckles*

    Welcome to the mile high blogger club

  4. eatsbugs says:

    I should have done that. On the flight home: a giant recap.

  5. firewings says:

    Heh, yeah. It very well may end up just like that – on the plane on Sunday.

    I’m watching these other bloggers do the blive blogging during the sessions. This is hardcore that I just cannot “bring” at this point.

  6. eatsbugs says:

    The more I think about it, the harder I think it must be to actually do.

  7. Thebutton says:

    Awesome and now I am peering at my tummy, wanting that baby cuteness to come out.

Leave a Reply

