Contemplative Wednesday

“There is something Pagan in me that I cannot shake off. In short, I deny nothing, but doubt everything.”

– George Gordon Byron

8 Responses to Contemplative Wednesday

  1. E says:

    Cute. Context? Source?

  2. firewings says:

    I thought so, for lack of something more insightful.

    Letter, December 4, 1811. Byron’s Letters and Journals, vol. 2, ed. Leslie A. Marchand (1973-1981).

    It is still summer by the way; shouldn’t I still be able to worm my way out of citing things?

  3. E says:

    Not willingly citing things left and right? What sort of English person are you?

    So, this guy is…?

  4. firewings says:

    A very, very lazy English person. Or a militant rebel – rar!

    *gasp* Never heard of the Byronic hero? For shame, E, you engineer you.

  5. E says:

    Heh. Militant. /inside joke

    Of course I’ve heard of him. It’s just that’s he’s always called. “Lord” Byron, not the more pedestrian and droll “George”. I would totally call myself “Lord” and speak in the third person if I reasonably had that option.

  6. firewings says:

    firewings think you should do it anyway. Throw caution to the wind.

  7. E says:

    I just don’t think it has the same ring to it.

  8. firewings says:

    Excuses, excuses.

Leave a Reply

