Contemplative Wednesday

the plot of our life sweats in the dark like a face
the mystery of childbirth, of childhood itself
grave visitations
what is it that calls to us?
Why must we praying screaming?
why must not death be redefined?
we shut our eyes we stretch out our arms
and whirl on a pane of glass
an afixiation a fix on anything the line of life the limb of a tree
the hands of he and the promise that s/he is blessed among women.

 -from “Dancing Barefoot” off the album Waves by Patti Smith

3 Responses to Contemplative Wednesday

  1. The Rebuker says:

    This one is too deep for me to crack but how do I know the name Patti Smith? I can hear the barely suppressed scoffing, but humor me; I’m my knowledge of music is pitiful.

  2. Kallie_Pigeon says:

    It’s just the First Day Of Classes Syndrome (FDCS) talking. I’m feeling darkly contemplative, too. There’s always Roger…

  3. firewings says:

    Haha, I didn’t mean this to sound as dark as it did and actually didn’t mean for it to correlate with the first day of class.

    Smith is a “punk rock’s poet laureate”. [Thanks Wikipedia!] Is that high-brow enough? I only know bits and pieces of her work, but am looking to see if I can get around to hearing more.

Leave a Reply

