Thin Blood

I leave tomorrow for Arizona to give my presentation on the ethos of blogging. Currently, I’m huddling in an oversized Afghan-esqe sweater, shivering, and praying to an extensive list of gods of all shapes and sizes that I’m not coming down with a cold. Because nothing says authoritative vixen like a hacking into a hanky.

It’s been a suspicion for a couple of days. I’ve waved it off by thinking that my sniffles must be just a repercussion from the temperature dipping into high 60s. BRRR.

I joke that this is still swimming weather in Germany to J, but my Mom expressed concern the other day. “You know, this is why Germans are depressed. No sun. Cold weather. You’re going to be in trouble,” she murmered. I think she’s right.

While not exceptionally sun-worshipping, I’ve enjoyed the climate in the Southwest immensely. I told her too that I since know the other side of the coin I might even be more prone to depression next year when I look up into a fogged grey sky… for weeks at a time. My American optimism wonders though if perhaps the lack of Vitamin D will help me fit right back in as I become a staid, grumbling member of the umbrella toting population.

Thank god it’s 91 in Phoenix.

8 Responses to Thin Blood

  1. Hey, I’m sick, too. With flu in Chicago and I’m giving a lecture next week in New Hampshire. I feel your pain. I keep telling myself I’ll still do fine even with the ‘hacking in the hankey’. You’ll do fine too. Good luck!

  2. eatsbugs says:

    Mm…sick chick in killer heels. Add a runny nose, and I’m even hot and bothered. Get better, do good. I better get word of success and ovation.

  3. firewings says:

    Either way I’m buying myself a margarita.

  4. E says:

    Wait, wait. So you’re definitely disappearing next year? *sad*

  5. Lisa says:

    Vitamins, girl, vitamins! I’ve already started on extra Vitamin D. And my full-spectrum light box is primed and ready to go!

    I’m one who could hibernate from January to April each year. Oy!

    Hope you’re feeling better and that your presentation was spectacular!

    Oh, yeah, it was 46 here this morning :-0 YIKES!

  6. The Rebuker says:

    No! Not vitamins! Well, yes vitamins, but more importantly, get some Xicam swabs. They can help your cold never develop past the sniffle phase. They taste like ass, but the alternative sucks even more.
    And, uh, what’s this about being somewhere dark and cloudy and germanic? Do you have plans? Solid plans?

  7. Kallie_Pigeon says:

    I’ve heard nothing says ethos like “power-snotting” into a waste basket at the start of your talk.

  8. Sarah says:

    Good luck to ya!!!

Leave a Reply

