Take your twenty-sided dice and…

As I bent over to view the bargain books at Hastings, I realized that the section was right next to all the D&D gaming material. Pouches of dice, gaming guides, novels creating a world that is heroic, scantily clad, and filled with darkness and light that doesn’t really manifest itself outside the hearts of average people in our world.

Say, Hegar, want to fight dragons? Let me get my diamond studded bikini. Of course it’s a magically endowed diamond studded bikini, that’s how this works – naturally.

I thought to myself how odd it is how many people I know game and how strange it is that I never fell into the experience beyond having many close friends and boyfriend as gamers.

I should have fallen to it. It should have encroached on my mind like a slow, sticky molasses. I tried first in seventh grade. I had a crush on a kid who I followed faithfully over about three years. He played in the classroom where they held shop class and on year two I debated that this mystical game might be my gateway in. My friend and I took a look at a deck that she had illicitly procured for she too had similar romantic aspirations. She rose to the challenge to try the game; I shook my head at the absurdity of the dynamics of it. I decided I’d rather be single.

That lasted until high school.

I freely admit I’m bitter. A post by a friend sparked the debate about the infamous Magic the Gathering  game that she and all my friends -and really by “all” I mean every single person I know – has played and owns some cards from. She mentioned it as a fad from my youth. I recalled wistfully that it was lovely to be dismissed from hanging out with a boyfriend on a Friday night because that’s the prime gaming night.

I should not feel that I should know that facet of MTG trivia.

This reminds of me of something I read a while back that I found amusing. It’s a writer commenting on the “man talk“:

I’m in a relationship. So is one of the guys I work with. Through this deep, spiritual connection, he tries to commiserate with me about how terrible women are and how downright annoying they can be. Right? Right? Yeah! Man talk!

But sadly, I related a lot to this:

“What do you do when your girlfriend starts buggin’ ya’ to spend time with her?”

I don’t know – I spend time with her? Like people dating do? But, ah shucks, I’m a softie.

10 Responses to Take your twenty-sided dice and…

  1. Thebutton says:

    *HUGS* ‘Tis the past dear. Bitter memories suck but at least you won’t let history repeat itself.

  2. K says:

    … Those were the days …

  3. eatsbugs says:

    What? What is this nonsense? Do I detect a hint of disdain for the great and royal sport that is Magic: teh Gathering?

    You foul beast you. I shall now tap two and two green and cast a might bit of sword about me so I might thwart you proper.

  4. firewings says:

    Re: Button – Uh, yeah.

  5. firewings says:

    Re: eatsbugs – Oy.

  6. E says:

    I refrain from my first thoughts regarding this.

    But I would almost understand it if history didn’t show that he sucks royally at that game.

  7. K says:

    D, you crack me up.

    *EDIT*
    “So I might thwart you proper, and let me see your boobies!”

  8. eatsbugs says:

    K…

    *EDIT*
    “*EDIT con boobies*”

  9. Josh says:

    I always excused it as “I have a hard enough time dealing with my own reality. I don’t need something that will eat up my life produced by a panel of writers with the one thought in mind ‘The geeks with absolutely no social skills are gonna eat this shit up’.”

    That and I once went to one of the “Vampire: The Masquerade” games…….Once.

    And I thought I never really had a grip.

  10. firewings says:

    Re: Josh

    “I thought I had a handle on life, then it broke.”

Leave a Reply

