Contemplative Wednesday

“If you pray for patience, do you think God just… gives you patience? Or does he give you opportunities to be patient? If you pray for courage, do you think he just gives you courage, or opportunities to be courageous?”

– Morgan Freeman as God from Evan Almighty

7 Responses to Contemplative Wednesday

  1. eatsbugs says:

    about the picture…it makes me want to go outside…

    about the quote…How could anything be more true. You want something, you need to earn it, and own it. Only then, will you truly possess it.

  2. strangerandstranger says:

    I like this quote a lot. It is why I like MOrgan Freeman’s performance of God in that movie. Bruce Almighty was good too.

  3. K says:

    That’s such a great movie, but I don’t remember that quote. Was that in the deleted scenes or something? That’s a great quote …

    My two favorites in that movie:
    “No matter how filthy something gets, you can always clean it right up.”

    “Bruce: What if I need you? What if I have questions?
    God: That’s your problem, Bruce. That’s everybody’s problem. You keep looking up.”

    Great movie … morgan freeman played a great God.

  4. K says:

    *rereads* Ohhhhhh, EVAN ALMIGHTY. Duh … I don’t think I’ve seen that one.

  5. Crash Override says:

    I approve the Voice of God coming in Morgan Freeman form.

    “I find I’m so excited, I can barely sit still or hold a thought in my head. I think it’s the excitement only a free man can feel, a free man at the start of a long journey whose conclusion is uncertain. I hope I can make it across the border. I hope to see my friend, and shake his hand. I hope the Pacific is as blue as it has been in my dreams. I hope.”

  6. Bethany says:

    Friday Feast isn’t up this week so I made some questions of my own….feel free to join in and pass the word along 🙂

    http://springraine.blogspot.com/2008/02/freaky-friday-questions.html

  7. theMayor says:

    Wow. Crash, thanks for that quote! That movie is so great, I haven’t seen it in forever!

Leave a Reply

