The Blog Interviews

Neil at Citizen of the Month started this great ring of interviewing blogging goodness. You would comment on his site, the person who commented before you would interview you and you would interview the person after you. As per Neil:

I know most of you won’t agree with me, but I think anyone who decides to write about their life online is interesting, even those who may not do the best job yet of conveying that on paper. We all should be interviewed, at least once. […] I’ve been complaining about how a combination of hierarchy, elitism, advertising, and plain old human insecurity will make the internet a less interesting place, especially to be a personal blogger lost in the loudmouth world of politics, celebrities, and product placement. […] The minute I posted my first post, I was a “published” writer. Even if my writing sucked. Even if my audience was one crazy guy from Ohio and my mother.

Sadly I have only heard from my interviewer once…but I will not fail my interviewee, Jeanette from Jeanette Eats Spaghetti. I tried for hard and biting questions in search for t/Truth, what came out was:

You like fart and poop jokes – throw me your best one.

When it comes to fart and poop jokes, I am totally immature. Someone says DUTY and I hear DOODIE (note: if someone says “happiness” I hear “penis”).

Typically when I say something funny and/or inappropriate, it’s an impromptu situation. The other day I wanted to break the silence and busted in with, “I farted today and it smelled like cat food.” Or James will try to coax me to try a new food:
James: Go ahead and eat it. Your belly won’t know the difference.
Me: My butt hole will.

I see a link to your professional freelance portfolio. I’m doing one of those too! Albeit that mine might have more touchy feely grad school reflections. [I’m in grad school for rhetoric.] Was it easy for you to combine your blog and your work?

It’s not so easy to combine my blog and my work because I feel like I have to stifle myself on every possible topic. When it comes to politics, religious beliefs, relationships, sex, drugs, rock & roll, and anything else that might be deemed offensive, all along I’ve been censoring myself quite a bit. At one point I felt like, why not link together my freelance portfolio and blog? If someone is going to be offended because I sometimes use the F-word, maybe I don’t want to hang out with that stick-in-the-mud person anyway? At the same time, I can’t shake that ‘Watch your mouth, young lady‘ feeling.

Do you eat a lot of spaghetti? Is there a back story for your blog title?

I love spaghetti. And meatballs.

It was never a popular post but yes, there is a back story for my blog title.

Aw, he’s an adorable rabbit killer puppy, Nico is. Though, to be fair, What are his more endearing, and more PETA friendly, qualities?

Nico is a girl. I don’t know why everyone thinks she’s a he?

Nico is a great dog. She loves to go canoeing, she’ll go anywhere in the car, (no really, she loves riding in the car), and she’s fun to hang out with. Beyond that point I have to censor myself because every time I try to write about her, I end up sounding like the Old Maid and Proud Owner of 27 Cats (who pretends the cats are her children).

[Ed. Note: Tell Nico I’m sorry. I grew up with male dogs so animals = “That’s such a GOOD BOY” in my mind.]

Since you seem to be a career writer, how did you find your way into blogging? How long have you been blogging?

Um, I started blogging in August.

[Ed. Note: Watch my awesome sluething skillz.]

I told you when I e-mailed you that I was terrified to mess with someone who ate thai-poes for lunch. I quiver in fear even now. Where do you get all grammar/writing ninja on people? Or you more in favor in lurking in the shadows, shaking your fist at people when they confuse they’re, there, or their?

It’s easier to see someone else’s mistakes rather than your own and as a result, I often overlook my mistakes because, “I know what I’m trying to say.” I recently received a reply email that said, “I’ve been called a lot of things before, but you’re the first to say I’m AWESEOM.”

I don’t shake my fist at people or think less of them because they confuse they’re/their/there, lose/loose, desert/dessert, women/woman, and so on… It happens. I usually notice it. (And I usually notice things like extra spaces or varying font styles and sizes.) I never hold it against other people because I’m not sure how I even notice those mistakes? I might know if a word is a noun or verb, but beyond that, grammar rules confuse me. I can’t identify a preposition, interjection, adjective, or pronoun to save my life.

You mention margaritas, my great weakness, so you get a pass.. But…do you believe beer is an acquired taste?

It’s kind of a hard question for me to answer.. At a young age I put all beer into one category – gross – and spent many years avoiding it altogether. Apparently, my early beer sampling population was skewed; I had only tried Busch or Milwaukee’s Best Light (yuck or yuck light). After years of avoiding beer, last year I decided to try some totally new beer and it turns out I love dark beer.

I fell into reading mommy blogs when I started reading blogs, even though I’m not a mommy. What are the strangest types of blogs do you peruse?

I haven’t really read any blog that I would label as “strange”. Blogs are personal stories and viewpoints. I love hearing what people have to say, even if it seems kind of weird. The only thing that’s strange to me is a perspective that’s closed-minded, controlling and unwilling to accept change.

[Ed. Note: Good answer!]

You like fart and poop jokes – throw me your best one.

When it comes to fart and poop jokes, I am totally immature. Someone says DUTY and I hear DOODIE (note: if someone says “happiness” I hear “penis”).

Typically when I say something funny and/or inappropriate, it’s an impromptu situation. The other day I wanted to break the silence and busted in with, “I farted today and it smelled like cat food.” Or James will try to coax me to try a new food:
James: Go ahead and eat it. Your belly won’t know the difference.
Me: My butt hole will.

Impromptu situations aside, I know only one joke. It involves a banana. To hear the joke you’ll have to email me for disclaimers, rules, regulations and legal mumbo-jumbo that detail a drawn out legal waiver (to be signed before a notary public) which limits my responsibility to your disgusted reaction and any resulting trauma/flashbacks you’ll experience for years to come.

(I know; it’s only a banana and it’s only a joke. But nowadays people will sue for any reason.)

[Ed. Note: *chants* We want banana joke; we want banana joke; we want banana joke.]

How’d the upstairs remodeling go?

Short answer: it’s on pause.

You kayak? How neat! Plus, it was a great post. Quote: “I had spent far too much time focusing on the negatives and wishing my time away.” What other outdoor talents do you have? Have you had any other life epiphanies with them?

Um, I don’t think I have any “outdoor talents.” I suck at everything and am worlds away from being athletically inclined.

Every time I travel to a new place, I have an epiphany; the more I travel, the more I realize the world is huge, incredibly dynamic and unimaginably diverse – I’ve never really been anywhere.

2 Responses to The Blog Interviews

  1. Neil says:

    If you want to be interviewed by someone new, send me an email!

Leave a Reply

