Lag

I got back late on Saturday from my Find Yourself extravaganza after being thankful that in America a majority of people huff and puff while walking down a international gate corridor enabling me to race past them to catch my next flight.

And then I stole someone’s McDonald’s burger. No, really.

Delayed in Chicago by a hail storm that happened before we got on the ground (mmm, sharp circles in the air on a stomach filled with airline food), we were an hour late giving me, per the schedule I had, forty minutes to get through customs, recheck my bag, and find my next gate. Luckily using my ninja racing skills and thus getting to the front of all the lines, like a dirty American is wont to do, helped me out tremendously.

I don’t really sleep on planes given that my fused back won’t let me sleep while sitting [In hindsight, this probably made me a waaaaay better student in high school and college.], so when I landed in Chicago at about 2 in the morning German time, I felt a little dazed. My connecting flight was delayed to the weather for an hour and I spent time making obligatory phone calls and pacing the food stands. How better to celebrate a homecoming than with a big, unhealthy plain cheeseburger and large fries? I stood in line, ordered, and tried to keep my yawning in check. Suddenly a small girl behind the counter juts out this bag of food into the crowd which I absentmindedly take and meander over to find a seat amongst a group that is much more Hispanically oriented than my last flight.

A quarter-pounder with cheese and everything on it? A medium fry? What madness is this? I blink. I shrug. I eat. [Those last four lines are a pretty narrow and direct (albeit unintentional) explanation of the last two weeks actually.]

I couldn’t sleep so I thought I’d type out a life sign that doesn’t include a whiff of what I actually did overseas just because I’m feeling cantankerous. I did have my door closed so that I don’t disturb J with the light, but Cat has a habit of nudging open doors like she owns the place. She blinked slowly at me, not the loving blink, but the “You? Awake? Typing cheerily this early in the morning? Tis a watershed moment this is.”

Yes, I do waiver between having her mentally speak in Kitty Pidgin and a slightly Elizabethan drawl.

8 Responses to Lag

  1. E says:

    Welcome back! And, pray tell, when do we get the summary of sordid affairs abroad post instead of the “I came back to the States and started my new life as the Hamburglar” post? 😛

  2. firewings says:

    After I catch up on my beauty sleep. 😉

  3. strangerandstranger says:

    Glad you are home 🙂

  4. Thebutton says:

    Glad you arrived home safely. Once you do get more rest, please do tell us of your tale over here.

  5. The Rebuker says:

    Teh kitteh haz valid kwestions. Hoomin gone, hoomin come back, hoomin haz stoln cheezburger and no bring one 2 kitteh. WTF/?

  6. The Rebuker says:

    Where, o where has our little peach gone?
    O where, o where can she beeeee . . . . . . .

  7. Freddy says:

    genau das frage ich mich auch? kein update mehr seit wochen! Was ist los? Hat Deutschland dich so geschafft oder musst du so viel arbeiten?

  8. thebutton says:

    C? Oh C? Where are you? We wants story! 😛

Leave a Reply

