Death Cab For Cutie – I Will Possess Your Heart

J quakes in his worn shoes when I say it, but at the moment this is my favorite song. His fear stems for the fact that this will be on heavy, heavy rotation in the house and in my car.

I wondered, walking into work this morning, if this song is a complete reversal of “Every Breath You Take” by The Police. Everyone thought it was a way romantic, if maybe a little saccharine, song, when in fact it was an ode to stalking. The first go of listening to the lyrics to “I Will Possess Your Heart” made me think, “Wow, this is a bit creepy… And I totally love it!”

Maybe it’s just an ode to being romantically persistent, but… I think mainstream culture still calls that stalking. [I’m not hip to what the kids call it now.] The stalker in me agrees, but is also swaying her hips and enjoying herself.

4 Responses to Death Cab For Cutie – I Will Possess Your Heart

  1. I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again: Death Cab’s earlier stuff is better. Ah, the hipster’s lament… Anyway, I wish they would release a song half as good as Company Calls Epilogue again.

  2. strangerandstranger says:

    I quite agree that repeat is a very reasonale status for this song. I enjoyed it and it gave me a very odd perspective. I almost like this song as much as I like What Sarah Said.

  3. eatsbugs says:

    You know, this song was okay. I like their other love songs better.

    Also, this video didn’t have enough boobies.

Leave a Reply

