Adding an O or an A to English words is a total trap

In theory, I’m really blessed in the offering of a new language recently. If I have been speaking to my Mom about my relationship, the end does tend to tie up nicely with, “How’s that Spanish coming along?”

It’s… not, to be honest. I have to conjure up a lot more discipline for myself than what I have currently. [And I was so damn gung-ho.] What has stopped me lately is the metaphor “taking it to the next level.”

This is exemplified with the janitor in our department that is completely enthused about my learning Spanish and my autentico novio who she likes to ask about. We ask each other every day how we are, and by god, I can say, “Muy bien” with astounding certainty. I even can play nice and give apt descriptions for my state – tired (cansada), there is lots of work (mucho trabajo), look! – snow! (mire!…snow!) – the thing is, I want to have other conversations with her and then realize I need to focus on the asking words. I think I asked her how much her children were the other day when I meant to ask how old they are. *hides*

But, I am toying with discipline and I told this to GS.

We were walking in the mall when I had a giddy flash of insight. “How about I decide on a goal for a mini-conversation that I can have with you at the end of a week? Something I can research vocabulary for and figure out the needed questions…anticipate your questions…maybe?” I trailed off a bit.

“That’s actually a great idea.”
“Yay!” A pause from me, “So what kind of topic?”
He turned his body toward me mid-stride and continued to walk, “You know what I’d like to know about and don’t really? American history. Tell me about American history.”

“American history…what part of American history?” I said slowly.

“All of it!” He waved his hands gleefully.

“That is crazy broad! Holy moly. Like, I’m supposed to research how to say the emancipation of slavery?” He grins at me. “La emancipaciรณn de la esclavitud.” I sigh and stretch my arms over my head and tell him that we have to narrow this topic down a bit. We walk silently and I ask again what topic.

“Lightbulbs,” he says without hesitation.
I glance over at him, “I will give you the best damn conversation about lightbulbs ever.”

11 Responses to Adding an O or an A to English words is a total trap

  1. peter m. says:

    I love this post – it gave me a hearty laugh. Will you be sharing your lightbulbs treatise, perhaps bilingually?

  2. GS says:

    It amuses me the detail with which the story is told, I dont quite notice these things when they happen.

  3. a lee says:

    I’d just like to point out here:
    Guys get blamed a lot for “not caring,” a charge made because they “can’t remember.”
    Well, obviously this charge is unfair. They never notice in the first place, so it’s not like they are guilty of forgetting.
    See my point?

    And what is GS? I did my usual try-to-be-hip-by-checking-urbandictionary, and I uh… I’m pretty sure it’s none of those. :/

    • firewings says:

      Yes, they do get a bad rap for not caring, and yes, I do anticipate a life filled with the following:
      “Z’s birthday?”
      “March 6.”
      “My aunt XH?”
      “September 24.”
      “What about KL’s? It seems like that was strange…”
      “In two years. Leap Year baby.”
      “Oh wow, cool! …Yours is…late in April.”
      “I’ll have Amazon mail me a present, don’t worry.”

      And after returning to search GS in UrbanDictionary, wow, there really aren’t any safe options from there at all. I’m a fan of people telling their own stories of their own given nicknames, but I can tell you for sure that it is very fitting and not any of these. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Maybe I’ll convince him to comment the story of his nickname. *pokes the ether*

      • a lee says:

        i’m so glad you didn’t go for the obvious “yes, but, why don’t they notice in the first place, hmmm?” question.

        given that it’s a nickname, i don’t need to know. i just thought maybe it was one of those blogosphere acronyms.

        drats. my un-hipness is betrayed.

    • GS says:

      About GS

      First of all my name is Jorge, and turns out that on my side of the border, its “cool” to say some words in English, so a tiny select group of friends call me Georgie (as for George).

      The nickname started a while ago, because some of my friends make fun of me for being a bit too cocky or big headed, so when a couple of friends and I went to the movies to see Ironman, they said I was just like Tony.

      The main character, Tony Starks, is a rich cocky guy so full of himself in a funny way; my friends said that I was just like him so they nicknamed me Georgie Starks.

      On earlier months, when C wanted to make a comment about me on her blog, she didnt want to use my actual initial cause according to her, she had too many friends starting with J already; after a discussion on the topic we agreed she would use GS when she referred to me.

      And thats the story.

  4. Me says:

    Maybe I need to break more things in the house to get our handy man to come by to practice Spanish. Words are coming back to me the more exposed I am to the language. If I was allowed to just toss myself south of the border I would.

  5. Kesa says:

    I had to find out when you said it- !Mira! Nieve! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ We have lots of it still up here. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

